Harry Feenstra and his amazing map!

I was so pleased that Dutchman, Harry Feenstra, contacted me the other day. He told me that his mother was about 10 years old when she saw my father and two other airman arrive at their farmhouse … where they were given some food and something to drink before they went on their way. They hoped to be able to avoid capture… but it wasn’t to be, sadly.

He is very knowledgeable about the area as he lives in Blija and where the plane came down was his playground when he grew up. The Waddensea is where dad came down in his parachute. Harry told me, “I am a guide in mudwalking tours in the Waddensea and we still find traces of the airwar sometimes.” He also sent me this wonderful map on which he’s placed some of the events of that night and where they occurred.

This entry was posted in Dad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

