Not many left now from Bomber Command!

I was saddened to read that Doug Groome had been missed out for the Legion of Honour award from France for all that he did whilst in Bomber Command. I hope that there are not going to be others who miss out, too.

I was astonished to read the following: Bomber Command crew members had a worse chance of survival than an infantry officer in World War I; 75 per cent of crews died before they completed a tour, or 30 flights, nearly 330 aircraft were lost and more than 1,400 aircrew were killed, missing or captured.

Given that fact I’m amazed that I’m here to honour my dad’s service in Bomber Command!

You can read about Doug Groome here- clearly a modest man who didn’t want to make a fuss!

Doug Groome

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-11-23/war-veterans-not-recognised-for-extraordinary-service/5911896

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

